Christmas do’s and Christmas dont’s

I’ve just got home after going to a carol service at the church my parents go to. It was my husband’s idea to go, and I’m glad we did. There’s a new minister there, and it felt like a fresh approach, in a subtle way, to a carol service. They also missed a verse or two out of some of the carols, so that there was time to cram in as many as possible 🙂 I’m sure it did me the world of good, all that breathing – hymns seem to always be in a high key and require great lungfuls of air to reach all the notes!

On Friday I went out for a meal with people from work – our Christmas do. It was a lovely evening and a chance to say goodbye to our head of department, and see a couple of other people I’d not seen for a while. I felt quite comfortable, even when we moved on for drinks afterwards. I’m so relieved that I’m getting used to going to social events where others drink and I don’t. I mean, it really does depend on who you are with, I’ve found, and the escape route has to be planned but on the whole I’m improving 🙂

But I am expecting a few cravings. Not necessarily for wine, more like the odd sherry. We decorated the tree earlier, listening to Christmas songs. It would have been nice to have a glass of something christmassy in my hand as well. A Christmas don’t! My plan is to find some good recipes for non alcoholic seasonal drinks, so that I don’t feel I’m completely missing out. So if anyone has any ideas to get me started, please let me know!

I hope everyone out there is well and happy, and managing to find some time to relax 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

