A well-documented sober slump

I emailed Belle the other day, to ask whether anyone else ever said that month seven feels like month one. She replied that yes, there is a well documented sober slump between month 6.5 and 8.5. Then at 8.5 when you can see your year on the horizon, it becomes easier again. Ahhhh….

The thing is, I do remember reading about this a while back. I’d just forgotten it because at the time I thought ‘oh that’s such a long way off, it doesn’t really apply to me’. So I shoved it to the back of my mind. But hey, look where I am! I’m suddenly delighted that I’ve made it to the sober slump – if that makes sense?! Back then it seemed so far in the future that I need not concern myself with it. But I’m actually there. Quite an achievement I think!

Discovering that things will get better fairly soon is also a bonus. I’m so looking forward to finding out what that looks like.

Hope everyone is having a good sober Wednesday! 🙂

7 thoughts on “A well-documented sober slump”

  1. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! I didn’t know that. Christ, I am right in the middle of ‘sober slump’. thanks for sharing, I don’t personally feel there, and hope don’t. but you take care you
    Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’m noticing that too in me. I’m at 6,5 months and starting to think I am this special case that does get cured because not drinking is all goind so easy (living is a little bit more difficult). I found it a dangerous thought. Mostly because I feel it comes naturally to me and I had not counted on that. It is something I need to sort it out because I’m going into this next phase now I most probably have a new job – the contract is getting send tomorrow. I know this most likely will bring all kinds of emotions that I have not learned to deal with yet in sober life. Very happy that it is part-time. 🙂 I don’t think I could deal with more now. Well, I guess I need to be vigilant but not scared upfront. Need to remember that. Hmmm, noticing now that letting go of the fear is scarier than having it. Funny. Hmmm. Need to consider. But not now and not here because this is not my blog and I’m rambling.

      THANK YOU VERY MUCH for posting this because I have not been very much aware of this next step in sobriety indeed. Glad that I got the heads up. Need to look into that. If somebody has some information as to why and how I am happy to hear about it. 🙂

      xx, Feeling

      Like

      1. Yes the not drinking isn’t too bad, I also find its the living part that’s getting me down, and leads to the ‘why bother’ thoughts. That’s the danger. So I’m adding in more treats, and consciously feeling proud of myself for getting to this point. Which feels like early sobriety.
        Good luck with the job – part time sounds great as it will leave you some time for readjustment. Take care:) xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I went through this at 8 months! I was spiralling into some kind of sobriety low. It helps if you can find a hobby or something that takes your mind off it and keeps you busy mentally and maybe spiritually. I promise it passes x

    Like

Leave a Reply

