Strong enough

I’ve had a lot of ups and downs this week, and it felt like mainly downs…And despite really wanting wine earlier, I’ve reached day six! My mind was full of chatter as usual. Full of negative noise. My usual response to this on a Friday night has been to open the wine, but I’m very glad I didn’t tonight.

It’s lovely to go to bed, looking forward to a day off tomorrow, and still be sober. Even though I haven’t been very successful on the self care front, I feel calmer just for being sober.

A friend at work told me yesterday, to always remember who I am, and work on looking after myself so that I’m strong enough to handle whatever life throws at me. She said she could sense how low I am, how the past few months have been hard for me. And the importance of her reminder to take care of myself is slowly sinking in…I felt too embattled yesterday to fully realise that I can change things for myself. But the idea is beginning to take root. And drinking will not help me. On to day seven 🙂

3 thoughts on “Strong enough”

  1. Congrats on day six!! That’s great advice from your friend. Self-care should be non-negotiable, right? I think sobriety allows us time and energy to take care of ourselves so that, in turn, we can be our best selves. It’s creating that positive cycle.
    Especially when you’re dealing with other challenging life stuff. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right. Even drinking just on weekends completely drained me of that self care capacity. Luckily it doesn’t seem to take long to see the benefits of sobriety in that respect. Thanks ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

