One foot in front of the other

Yesterday afternoon, I got home about 4pm after visiting my sister and my parents, and I felt there was a strange gap to be filled before dinner. Anxious not to let my mind settle on thoughts of wine, I just announced ‘right, I’m going to have a bath’, in a reflex action sort of way. I took my tablet and listened to a couple of Belle’s audios. Husband made dinner (we say ‘tea’…it feels odd to say dinner, but I think you wouldn’t know what I’m on about) so it was ready when I got out of the bath. I had about three glasses of pomegranate and something cordial with soda water and mint leaves. Loooovely!! Self care ROCKS!

Watched the new Sunday night 9pm drama, then had a fairly sleepless night before going back to work today after the two week Easter holiday. I think the sleeplessness was partly the usual will-my-alarm-go-off post-holiday anxiety, and partly the hot flushes. Honestly, its enough to drive you mad, the constant flinging off of the duvet because of the heat and then huddling under it again because of shivering. And no sleep. <sigh>. On the bright side, this should start to wear off soon, as I have had my last injection.

I always love the idea of the sober bubble, but this time I wasn’t sure how I’d feel being back at work for the very early days. I’m just going to have to take one step at a time, and be extra mindful to maintain the self care. So after a good day at work, I got home this afternoon and hoisted Husband out of his chair and off for a bracing walk before tea. I wanted to investigate a possible route for running, should I ever pluck up the courage to go out in daylight with my running stuff on. The fresh air was great, I really enjoyed it. Self care ROCKS! Again!

So I’ve had another of the pomegranate drinks with fresh mint, I’m looking forward to 9pm drama on the telly, and I’ll probably have another sleepless night, but I feel brilliant. Day 3 🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “One foot in front of the other”

  1. Woohoo! Day 3 is awesome. Sounds like you are doing it up right… I’m super impressed with how well you’re taking care of yourself and all the tools you’re using. Keep it up- it feels fantastic, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tools, tools and more tools! Yes it feels great… something has sort of clicked with me recently, and I know its early days, but so far I feel that the more I put in to being sober, the more I’m getting out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ha! i just realized i commented, but hadn’t logged in, so it wouldn’t show who the comment was from! what an idiot i am! anyway, i said, yay baths! that’s my go-to method too! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

