A good day

Yesterday was a much better day at work. I felt a bit fragile and emotional because the pregnant teacher and head of dept were giggling about her baby bump. She’s showing a lot more, and for some stupid reason, I just don’t know where to look when people talk about it. But I’m still trying really hard to redirect my thoughts to myself, and the action that my husband and I need to take to get to where we want to be. I’m doing quite well at that, I think. Having said that, my brain is trying to have silly, anxious thoughts about what my colleagues think of me. A and I were talking about the new supply teacher, who seemed very anxious. I compared this to myself – I admitted I’m an anxious person, but I didn’t think I made other people feel anxious by being anxious myself, as this supply teacher does. He said ‘oh yes, you were very nervous when you started here’. Yes I know. But  I wasn’t immobilised by fear, I’m certain of that. I remember deciding to smile, say yes a lot, and be friendly all the time, and worry about what the hell I was doing later. It was a good strategy, I think! But now I’m worrying that I looked like a total idiot.

No, no. I can’t allow myself to think like this. I worked in a supermarket for 10+ years, completely away from my academic background of science. Then I got this job, where there was no-one doing the job to train me. So I picked it all up along the way. Even when the second technician joined a few weeks later, she’d never done the job either. I’m really proud of how I’ve progressed and what I can do now. Dammit, who bloody cares if I was nervous to start with!! This just goes to show that sobriety is absolutely the way forward for me, as my mind definitely tends towards anxiety, and drinking would only add to that.

So to continue with the story…N and I swapped activities for the day – there was an experiment coming up which meant she could put into practice the skills she learned on a recent training course, and I explained I really needed some practice using the spreadsheet. So instead of doing what we both found easiest (she is so good on the computer I am rather intimidated), we worked on areas we needed to improve. Win/win!

It’s been a good day today. I slept in late (Mr had a fire call, so I was awake for a couple of hours early morning), then did a couple of loads of laundry. Walked to the post office, then did a detour on the way home, along the reservoir and through the woods. The birds were singing, it was lovely. I planted more seeds in the greenhouse, then had a bath, and made curry for tea afterwards.

It’s late now, husband is out at the pub and I’m going to have one more AF drink then go to bed. He said earlier he’d like to go out, and I thought oh no, I hope he’s not going to try to make me go with him and ‘just have one drink’. But no, I told him he should go if he wanted to and he said ‘can I?’. I don’t feel I’m missing out at all, and I’m so glad he’s doing what he wants and I’m doing what I want. Another win/win:)

 

 

7 thoughts on “A good day”

  1. Sounds like you’re doing really well! How many days have you been sober now? Remember: take each day at a time; don’t expect everything to be easy overnight 🙂

    I also love the comment from your other post about “A shitty sober day being better than going back to day 1”. So true!

    Hope you’re well and have a good day today!x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m only on day 9 this time…I was often getting to 7-14 days since September, when i ended my 400 day stretch, but I’m going for at least 100 this time. Hence blogging so much to stay connected.

    Thanks for the comment, have a great Sunday x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Day 9, woohoo! And good for you to stay home and take care of yourself while your husband was at the pub! Personally, I think your day & night sounded way more enjoyable and relaxing 🙂 I’d take walks and baths and good food over a busy pub anyday! keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi. I’m new to your blog. I’m enjoying reading your posts and look forward to more. Thank you for sharing your journey. Back to day one, myself. Determined to do this. Have a good rest of your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

