Two steps forward…

Ok so I’m back to day three, unfortunately. I drank on Friday night. It was an odd set of circumstances. Busy week at work, and head of dept bought me and my colleague a bottle of prosecco each to say thanks for all our hard work. I mistakenly let myself think about drinking a little bit too much, and although I didn’t drink that bottle, I went and bought myself some non sparkling wine instead. I still have the sparkly stuff but won’t be drinking it. I must give it away. What a stupid thing to do, though, just letting myself cave in like that. All talk of self care forgotten.

But I’m back, and trying again. I’ve got a couple of appointments this week, one is my second injection. I just watched a little video about self compassion that I think was originally posted by primrose. It said that when going through tough times, it helps to drastically reduce expectations and just focus on taking care of yourself.  I think that may need to happen whilst I’m under the influence of this next dose of hormones. Hopefully to be forewarned is to be forearmed in this case!

I was thinking of writing on a separate blog about infertility, but I’m not sure…I’ve come to rather like being, and identify with waking up. Does anyone have any thoughts?

Sweet sober dreams x

4 thoughts on “Two steps forward…”

  1. I think a lot of women (and men!) could benefit from reading about your coping with infertility. And it would probably help you too to hash it out! However you could also do both here as well.
    And yay for day 3! You can do this. xo

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I hope you won’t be too hard on yourself! Quitting drinking is an incredibly difficult thing under any circumstance, and you’re trying while in the midst of fertility treatments (one of the most stressful things a person can go through)!! It’s a struggle! A recovery support group could be very helpful. I’m sorry I can’t remember if you’re participating in one. Having a sponsor or supportive person you can call who really understands and has been there could really help. Just an idea. Only you know what’s right for you. In the meantime, every day is a new day to live the choices you want to make for yourself. I love that quote about being knocked down seven times, but getting up eight! We just keep getting up! ((hugs))

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Day 3 is good. That’s because you haven’t given up.
    I would gather as much support as you can around you. What more support can you gather for stopping drinking?
    Snowdroplets is so right…I hope you won’t be too hard on yourself. Easier said than done.
    You could certainly help other women who struggle with infertility!
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

